新闻稿

《汉娜与茉莉花》
640公里的坚持
信念不变的承诺

2017年02月19日




(香港.2017年2月19日)20名汕头大学学生,10男10女,2月11日由广东省汕头市出发,经普宁、陆丰、汕尾、惠州、深圳,划了640公里,2月18日抵达香港,历时8天,今早划进维港,汕大校董会名誉主席李嘉诚先生亲自在黄埔海滨迎接。

是次海洋划艇挑战由李嘉诚基金会赞助,目标是培养学生团结及坚毅的品格,并实现多项突破:

  1. 1.海洋划艇运动首次在亚洲进行。
  2. 2.当中所使用的两艘R45海洋艇均为特制赛艇,首次引进亚洲。
  3. 3.完成世界其他大学从来没有的海洋划艇创举。
  4. 4.以竞技为本的教育改革。海洋划艇队成员经严格选拔,从260名参加者选出20名学生,通过为期一年的训练, 参与者的意志、体力、团队合作及拼搏精神,在过程中备受考验。
  5. 5.进行公益筹款,划艇队员为保护海龟和红树林而划动,为生态环境保护作出贡献。
 

为何两艇队分别名为汉娜(Hannah)和茉莉花(Jasmine)?

汉娜(Hannah)是以色列女子常用名字,是恩典与富饶的意思;茉莉花(Jasmine)则蕴含中国色彩,代表素洁、浓郁、傲骨、久远,花语是气节;两命名象征汕大成为中国与以色列的友谊之桥。

李嘉诚先生对这项目有何感受和看法?

李嘉诚先生70多年前为逃避战乱,离乡别井,当时的他从未见过海、未见过浪、不知去哪,最后坐木炭车,乘帆船,小心翼翼绕过日本军队的占领区,经过一千公里,从潮汕来到香港。李先生感叹时间过得很快,最大愿望是为年青人建立未来,成为有创新变革的勇气、有执行力的栋梁。鲜为人知的是,李先生除了热爱高尔夫球,还喜欢大海和划艇。

如何成功踏上征途?

为使这次海洋划艇能顺利进行,划艇队特聘单人划船横渡大西洋的健力士世界纪录保持者Charlie Pitcher及其专业教练团队,严格训练学生。参加者不单要有强健的体魄与坚强的意志,还需掌握游泳、划艇、定位、航海、急救等技能以完成挑战。此外,海洋划艇也能培养参与者的组织、沟通、领导力等,对个人成长有很大裨益。

***

李嘉诚先生在欢迎汕大海洋划艇队成员仪式上致辞

各位嘉宾,各位朋友:

首先要欢迎「汉娜与茉莉花」队员,欢迎延平号上的老师同学﹗

这几天,我们的队员接力划了640公里,一直我都以卫星追着,看到你们用手机分享的故事,很是感动,欢迎大家来到香港﹗

我11岁的时候由潮汕来香港,路途曲折多了,还要避开日军,先要向北才可以南下,走了一千公里路才能到岸边。当年未见过汪洋,未经历过风浪,茫茫大海,亦不知道是否可以到达彼岸。

今日时代已改变,改革开放鼓励观念的改变,年轻人要有创新变革的勇气和态度,拥抱未来﹗万变的社会中,支持教育改革是我不变的信念,为国家培养有人格心力、有执行能力的栋梁,是我对汕大,以及即将招生的广东以色列理工学院的最大期望。

今日有很多记者朋友参加我们这个活动,以前大家都访问过我多次,今日我想访问「茉莉花」队员Yoyo同学,我知道当其他队员不舒服、无法继续的时候,妳,一个人撑着一队人,独自在三米海浪中划行八小时,我很想听听妳的故事。

***

有关李嘉诚基金会

李嘉诚基金会于1980年由李嘉诚先生创立,以期︰一、推动改变;二、提升能力;三、建立同慈能量;四、启迪社会创进。李先生视基金会为他的「第三个儿子」,投入其三分之一的资产。至今,项目捐款已逾200亿港元,横越全球27个国家及地区,其中超过80%用于支持大中华地区项目。

有关基金会的详细资料,请参阅︰http://www.lksf.org

微博:weibo.com/LKSfoundation
Twitter: twitter.com/lksf
Instagram: @lksfoundation
Youtube: www.youtube.com/lksfoundationhk

有关汕头大学

汕头大学在校学生逾 20,000 人,其中全日制在校生逾 10,000 人,每年培育毕业生逾 2,000 人,其中医科生占约 26%;李嘉诚基金会对汕大的支持款项预计至 2018 年将超过80 亿港元。

网址﹕http://www.stu.edu.cn/

Press Releases

Hannah and Jasmine
keep unchanging promise and persevere for the 640km journey to Hong Kong

19 February 2017




(Hong Kong, 19 February, 2017) Shantou University (STU)’s 20 strong ocean rowing team, with 10 male and 10 female students, embarked on their eight-day rowing relay from Guangzhou province’s Shantou on 11 February and passed through Puning, Lufeng, Shanwei, Huizhou and Shenzhen before arriving in Hong Kong on 18 February. Upon completing their 640 km maritime journey and entering the Victoria Harbour, they were received by Honorary Chairman of the STU Board of Directors of Shantou University Mr Li Ka-shing.

Sponsored by the Li Ka Shing Foundation, this ocean rowing challenge aims to foster unity and perseverance amongst students and made several breakthroughs:

  1. 1. The challenge marked the first ocean rowing event in Asia.
  2. 2. The two R45 ocean rowboats used by the team are customised for race and the first to debut in Asia.
  3. 3. The challenge set a precedent for ocean rowing amongst universities in the world.
  4. 4. A competition-based education reform. The 20 members of the team were rigorously chosen from a pool of 260 candidates and trained for a year and their willpower, stamina, teamwork and determination were put to the test.
  5. 5. It is also a fundraiser for environmental protection and conservation of sea turtles and mangroves.
 

Why choose the monikers “Hannah” and “Jasmine for the rowboats?

“Hannah”, a common Hebrew female name denoting grace and abundance, and “Jasmine”, a signature flora in China connoting purity, richness, dignity and persistence, together symbolise STU’s bridging of the Israeli-Chinese friendship.

What are Mr Li Ka-shing’s views on this project?

Mr Li and his family escaped the war 70 years ago. They left their home in Chaozhou and arrived in Hong Kong safely after travelling on sailboats and riding in wood gas trucks for 1,000 km to bypass Japanese occupied areas. At the time, he was all at sea and he had never seen the ocean or waves before. Tempus fugit, Mr Li lamented the fleeting days. Now his greatest wish is to build a future for the younger generation which would become revolutionary, courageous, and industrious leaders of the society. Besides his favourite sport golf, it is little known that Mr Li also loves the ocean and enjoy rowing.

How did the team fulfill the journey?

To ensure smooth sailing, the ocean rowing team has on board holder of Guinness world record for fastest solo transatlantic rowing, Charlie Pitcher, as well as his professional coaching team. Trained rigorously and not only required to have a strong physique and stamina, the students also needed to master swimming, rowing, navigation, seafaring and first aid to complete the challenge. Ocean rowing can also benefit personal growth in that it fosters rowers’ organisation, communications and leadership skills.

***

Speech of Mr. Li Ka-shing

Good morning to all our distinguished guests and friends ,and my warmest welcome to Team Hannah and Team Jasmine , faculties and students on board Yan Ping .

For the past week , I have followed with intense interest your 640 Km relay via the satellite tracker , the stories you shared on the message chat was awesome and inspiring .

During the war , my family and I took a more meandering escape route , We travelled 1000Km on wood gas trucks before boarding a boat to Hong Kong. At 11 years old then, I had never seen the ocean and its crashing waves before, and had absolutely no idea whether we could reach our destination.

Times have changed for the better now, openness and reform policies encouraged deep re-imaginations ; today , fortitude and endurance to embrace the momentum of disruptive innovation is a “must“ to navigate the future.

In this changing world, I am committed to inspire societal improvement through long-term education initiatives and it is my hope that Shantou University and Guangdong Technion Institute of Technology ,through their pursuit of education and excellence will foster our younger generations to become mission-driven thrivers ,creative, caring, intellectual engaged industrious leaders of the society.

I noticed we have a lot of friends from the media joining us this morning , its my turn to interview YoYo from team Jasmine today. “ YoYo, when your colleagues succumbed to harsh conditions and seasickness and cannot continue at their stations , you soldiered on for 8 hours alone , rowing against rough waters of 3 meters waves , please share with us your story . “

***

About the Li Ka Shing Foundation

Established in 1980, the Li Ka Shing Foundation (LKSF) has four core imperatives: 1) foster change, 2) empower people, 3) develop a better society, and 4) inspire societal improvement. Mr. Li considers the Foundation to be his “third son” and has pledged one-third of his assets to it. To date, over HKD20 billion has been put to work to support all its initiatives across 27 countries and regions. Over 80 per cent of LKSF’s donations benefit projects in the Greater China region.

For more information, please visit: http://www.lksf.org

Weibo: weibo.com/LKSfoundation
Twitter: twitter.com/lksf
Instagram: @lksfoundation
Youtube: www.youtube.com/lksfoundationhk

About Shantou University

STU has more than 20,000 students, 10,000 of them full-time on campus, and each year more than 2,000 graduates, of whom approximately 26 per cent are medical students. The Li Ka Shing Foundation’s contribution to the university will reach HKD8 billion by 2018.

For more information, please visit: http://english.stu.edu.cn